Open Letter to Trump 

from leading artists, politicians, journalists: drop charges and investigation into WikiLeaks 

1:20 PM - 15 May 2017

(in cache)

... We call on you as President of the United States to close the Grand Jury investigation into WikiLeaks and drop any charges planned against any member of WikiLeaks. It was a free and robust press that provided you with a platform on which to run for president. Defending a truly free press requires freedom from fear and favour and the support of journalists and citizens everywhere; for the kind of threat now facing WikiLeaks — and all publishers and journalists — is a step into the darkness.

Alfonso Sánchez


Andrej Hunko

Member of German Parliament (DIE LINKE), member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Andrew Bartlett

Former Senator in the Australian Parliament - 1997-2008

Andrew Fowler


Andy Müller-Maguhn

Member of the Board, Wau Holland Foundation (WHS) / Centre for Investigative Journalism (CIJ)

Angela Richter


Ann Wright

Col., US Army (ret.); Foreign Service Officer (resigned)

Annegret Falter


Annie Machon

Former British intelligence officer

Arjen Kamphuis


Bastian Obermayer

Investigative journalist

Benet Salellas

Lawyer and Diputy in the Catalan Parliament

Brandon Bryant

Recipient of the 2015 Whistleblower of the Year Award

Brennan Novak

Transparency Toolkit

Carlos Enrique Bayo

Redactor Jefe de Investigación e Internacional, Publico, Madrid

Carlos Latuff


Christian Grothoff


Christine Milne

Former Aust Greens Leader

Cian Westmoreland

SrA USAF (Honorable Discharge), Veterans for Peace

Coleen Rowley

FBI Special Agent and former Minneapolis Division Legal Counsel (ret.)

Costas Efimeros

The Press Project

Craig Murray

Former British Ambassador to Uzbekistan

Daniel Ellsberg

Former State and Defense Dept. official, released Top Secret Pentagon Papers in 1971

Daniel Richter


Daniel Sommer

Courage France, PDG DS Invest

David Fernández


David Swanson

Director of World Beyond War, campaign coordinator of

Diani Barreto

Journalist, researcher, campaigner, coordinator at ExposeFacts

Dr George Gittoes AM

2015 Sydney Peace Prize, Artist,Filmmaker,War Witness,Founder Yellow House Jalalabad

Edward Snowden

President, Freedom of the Press Foundation

Elizabeth Murray

Deputy National Intelligence Officer for Near East, CIA and National Intelligence Council (ret.)

Eva Blum-Dumontet


Felicity Ruby

PhD Candidate, Sydney University

Frederik Obermaier

Investigative Journalist

Friedrich Moser


Geoffroy de Lagasnerie

Philosopher and professor at Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC)

Gerard Goggin

ARC Future Fellow, Professor of Media and Communications, Department of Media and Communications


The Juice Media

Günter Wallraff

Investigative journalist

Harry Karanikas


Helen Razer

Australian journalist

Ilija Trojanow


J.M. Porup


Jean-Michel Jarre


Jeff Cohen

Director of Park Center for Independent Media, Ithaca College

Jeff Sparrow

Writer, editor and broadcaster

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson


Jérémie Zimmermann

La Quadrature du Net, co-founder

Jérôme Hourdeaux


Jimmy Schulz

Chairman LOAD e.V & Vice Chairman ISOC Germany

Joan Llinares

Director of the Transparency Office of the Barcelona City Council

Johannes Wahlström

Investigative journalist and filmmaker

John Kiriakou

Former CIA Counterterrorism Officer

John Pilger

journalist, Courage Trustee

Jordi Angusto


Juan Branco

writer and lawyer

Ken Loach

film director

Kevin Zeese

Co-director, Popular Resistance

Kirk Wiebe

NSA Whistleblower and Retired Senior Intelligence Analyst

Leif Ryge


Linda Lewis

WMD preparedness policy analyst, US Dept of Agriculture (ret.)

Lisa Ling

TSgt USAF (ret.)

Ludovic CourtŹs

GNU Project

M. C. McGrath

Transparency Toolkit

Mairead Maguire

Nobel Peace Prize winner

Marie Gutbub


Marie-AgnŹs Sommet

Courage France, Directrice Générale SRP

Mark Weisbrot

Co-Director, Center for Economic and Policy Research

Mary Kostakidis

Former anchor, SBS world News

Matt Kennard


Matthew Hoh

Former Capt., US Marine Corps, Iraq & Foreign Service Officer, Afghanistan

Michael Kreil

Data journalist

Michael S. Kearns

Captain, US Air Force (Ret.)

Monika Ermert

c't/heise online

Moritz Bartl

Renewable Freedom Foundation

Natalia Uval

Journalist, La Diaria newspaper, Uruguay

Nicky Hager

Investigative journalist, New Zealand

Noam Chomsky

linguist, MIT

Norman Solomon


Oliver Stone


Pamela Anderson

Tenure Board Member

Patrick Schiffer

Chairman Pirate Party Germany

Patti Smith


Peter Kofod

independent journalist

Peter Van Buren

Whistleblower, Department of State

Philip Giraldi

CIA, Operations Officer (ret.)

PJ Harvey


Pratap Chatterjee

Executive Director, CorpWatch

Raimond Gaita

Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Law School & Faculty of Arts, University of Melbourne, Emeritus Professor of Moral Philosophy, King's College London

Ray McGovern

Former US Army infantry/intelligence officer & CIA analyst (ret.) and founder of Veteran Intelligence Professionals for Sanity as well as Sam Adams Associates for Integrity in Intelligence

Rebecca O'Brien

Producer, Sixteen Films

Renata Avila

human rights lawyer, Courage Trustee

Robert Naiman

Policy Director, Just Foreign Policy

Robert Wing

Former Foreign Service Officer (associate VIPS)

Sana Saleem


Scott Ludlam

Australian Greens Senator for Western Australia

Senator Lee Rhiannon

Sergio Salgado


Simona Levi

Theater director and Activist

Slavoj Žižek

philosopher, Birkbeck Institute for Humanities

Srećko Horvat

philosopher and co-founder of DiEM25

Stefania Maurizi

Investigative journalist, La Repubblica, Italy

Susan Benn

Senior Advisor to the Centre for Investigative Journalism, Courage Trustee

Thomas Drake

Former Senior Executive, NSA

Todd E. Pierce

MAJ, US Army Judge Advocate (ret.)

Tom Ballard

Comedian & Broadcaster

Vivienne Westwood

fashion designer, Courage Trustee

Volker Birk

pEp foundation

Will Potter


William Binney

Technical Director, NSA; co-founder, SIGINT Automation Research Center (ret.)

Yanis Varoufakis

economist and co-founder of DiEM25


Version: 25.5.2017

Address of this page


Joachim Gruber